Star Wars Identities: Part 1

I flew to Edmonton this past weekend to visit my brother and to visit the most wonderfully epic exhibit that brought me right back to my childhood – Star Wars Identities at the Telus World of Science.  Ian bought us the tickets a year ago, and I’ve been looking forward to it ever since!

I tried not to read too much about the exhibit beforehand, I already knew I would love it no matter what, and it far exceeded my expectations!  Before entering the exhibit, we were given a bracelet to build our Star Wars Identity through interactive stations throughout the exhibit!  I chose to build a wookiee character, as they have always been my favourite, and we started touring the exhibit, looking at how the early beginnings of the characters shaped the people they became…

We got to see the actual costumes worn by stormtroopers and by actor Jeremy Bulloch as the incomparable Boba Fett in Return of the Jedi, beautiful sketches of the aliens brought to life at the Mos Eisley Cantina scene in A New Hope and the mask worn by the actor Tommy Ilsley who played Ponda Baba – best known as the alien who has issues with young Luke at the bar and loses an arm for it – thanks Obi-Wan (picture 16)!

My favourite feature in the 1st section of the exhibit was C-3PO!  All polished and shining a brilliant gold – as he often was for medal ceremonies, being worshipped by Ewoks, etc – the costume on display had been worn by Anthony Daniels and I couldn’t take enough photos of it!  With trusty and resourceful R2D2 by his side, these two really made my day – I would have left a very happy camper if that had been all there was to the exhibit, but there was so much more….

5 comments
  1. feckthisshit said:

    Looks like an awesome exhibition!!

  2. lysamr said:

    It was an amazing exhibit and I was so happy to see you again! Both you and your brother are tied to so many of my childhood memories, Star Wars included. It was fitting that I got to be there with you two; and lunch was cherry on the top. Beautiful pictures.

  3. Jayarrgii said:

    This was in Montreal for a while – uhhmazinggg

Leave a Reply

