PDX 2

Our next day in Portland, Ryan and I started out with coffee and scones at Stumptown Coffee (conveniently attached to the lobby of the Ace) and set out to walk around Downtown!  We walked down to Waterfront Park to admire all the bridges (SO many!) and to enjoy the beautiful sunshine (we’ve heard it’s similar to Vancouver in the winter months so we tried to soak up as much as possible, as we will be back in the rainy season)!

In our wanderings, we happened upon The English Dept, a beautiful bridal boutique I’d admired from afar during our wedding planning!  Ryan was a good sport and came in with me, and patiently waited while I drooled over in-house designer Elizabeth Dye’s gorgeous gowns and ornate hairpieces by my wedding hairpiece designer Myra Callan of Twigs & Honey – swoon!  I can’t wait for Myra’s book to arrive (c’mon Chapters!!)

After all that drooling and swooning, I was pretty hungry, so we walked down the block to Food Cart Central (SW10th and Alder) to check out one of Portland MANY food trucks!  We had seen EuroTrash on Eat St. and decided to give the Escargot and Squid Fana a taste!  Crunchy, tangy, spicy, salty creamy… i think that might be everything I like in a meal! 🙂  Next time we’re down I want to try their Chorizo and Chips!

After lunch we wandered around taking photos and videos pretty much all afternoon!  After all that walking and recording we were… hungry!  Ryan and I hadn’t been for oysters in ages, so we made a pit stop at the hotel then walked down a few blocks to The Parish!  We had been flipping through a Portland Monthly (The Food Lover’s Guide to Portland – good timing hey?) we picked up at Whole Foods and came across a feature about must-try oysters and wanted to try some American oysters!  A pleasant surprise in Portland (in addition to 0% sales tax) is that almost every restaurant/pub has a happy hour!  The Parish had cheap drinks and dollar oysters, so Ryan and I got a few dozen oysters and martinis (only 2 martinis)!  Our faves of the night, by far, were the Chelsea Gems from Washington!

For dinner, we walked down half a block to Oven and Shaker for PIZZA!  It was the BEST pizza we’ve had in a long time… second ONLY to Pizzeria Prima Strada in Victoria (miss you guys will always be my favourite!!)  Ryan had his favourite Magherita and I tried the Bianca – amazing (we even went back a few days later and had the pizzas again!)  We finished the night with their house made olive oil gelato and oooooh my gosh, the BEST dessert I’ve ever had (we went back just for the ice cream the next day)!  Thanks to everyone who made our Day 2 tasty and memorable!

Photos 9, 10, 12-14, 16 and 17 taken by Ryan, rest by me!

Leave a Reply

