spring 2012 RTW: print perfection

All images from vogue.com.  umm ok. Along with the rest of the fashion world, I am INFATuated and obsessed with Mary Katrantzou.  Ever since I saw her spring 2011 RTW collection, i’ve been in love with her use of pattern and print, i’ve never seen anything like it and this season was nothing short of incredible!  Using ocean life prints wrapped and swirled and poofed into dreamy and vibrant cocktail dresses, gowns and separates, i think i would feel like the most special girl in the world if i wore one of these pieces! (Ryan and I visited The Room at Pacific Centre Hudson’s Bay a few weeks ago and i TOUCHED one of her Fall RTW dresses and it MADE my day – sad or die-hard? both i think ;))

another designer collection i can never wait to see is Kate and Laura Mulleavy’s Rodarte.  I didn’t feel as though the collection had as much character as previous seasons I’ve loved, but the Van Gogh-inspired (and literal) prints were beautiful, luxurious and colourful nonetheless!Finally, definitely never a stranger to prints – Peter Pilotto!  Another collection that i feel had a sort of ocean-inspired feel to it, perhaps more in the cut of the gowns (looks 1 and 2 pictured below remind me of neoprene scuba wetsuit shapes?)  I love the ease of the mix of shapes, colours and prints (as Mary Katrantzou also flawlessly achieves)…Only a few more fashion week posts – more to come…

3 comments
  1. molliee said:

    Oh the rodarte is really catching my eye…. what I would do to afford all these lovely pieces!?!

    xoxo
    molliee

    • wouldn’t it be amazing to wear even a stitch of any of these? these posts show what i wear in my daydreams! let’s win the lottery Molliee! 😉

Leave a Reply

